

Upsilon Pi Epsilon

Honor Society for the Computing Sciences

UPE NEWSBRIEF - 2009 UPE Awards

September 15, 2009

2009 Scholarship Awards - Each summer the Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon evaluates a large number of outstanding scholarship applicants at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. All scholarship applicants were required to complete a comprehensive application form including a statement on their long-term plans for the profession, a summary of their contributions to their respective UPE chapters and related student activities at their university. Each applicant is also required to submit all college-level transcripts and a recommendation from the UPE faculty adviser. Council is pleased to present a summary of the 2009 scholarship awardees is listed below.

UPE Headquarters

Orlando S. Madrigal, PhD UPE Executive Director
California State University, Chico
Ph: (530) 518-8488
fax: (707) 647-3560
upe@acm.org

Postal Address: UPSILON PI EPSILON 158 Wetlands Edge Road American Canyon, CA 94503

Executive Council

Robert Roggio, PhD, (2010) UPE International President University of North Florida broggio@unf.edu

Daniela Stan-Raicu, PhD, (2013) DePaul University dstan@cti.depaul.edu

James Comer, PhD, (2012) Texas Christian University j.comer@tcu.edu

Ali Orooji, PhD, (2011) University of Central Florida orooji@cs.ucf.edu

Angela Y. Wu, PhD, ex-oficio American University awu@american.edu

Alumni Representative

Bill Poucher, Ph.D. Baylor University poucher@acm.org

UPE Webmaster/Editor

Eric S. Ackerman, Ph.D Nova Southeastern University Esa@nova.edu

UPE Scholarship Awards

\$1,000 UPE Awards:

Graduate

Paula Laurent, DePaul University Kevin Michael Lynch, Drexel University Amber Terese McKenzie, University of South Carolina

Undergraduate

Nicholas A. Roth, Michigan Technological University Federico Younes, Pace University

UPE Named Awards:

UPE Dan Drew \$1,250 award went to <u>Sneha Elizabeth Popley</u>, Texas Christian University

UPE Jim Nolen \$1,250 award went to Amy Kathryn Hoover, University of Central Florida

Other UPE Awards

ACM and IEEE-CS Awards – Each year, UPE provides funds for four \$500 scholarship awards to student members of the ACM and also four \$500 scholarship awards to student members of the IEEE-CS.

ABACUS Award – UPE presented the 2009 Abacus Award to Dr. Gene Spafford, Computer Science Professor at Purdue University. This award included a special plaque, an engraved Abacus, and a cash award of \$2,000.

ICPC Awards – UPE presents \$300 cash awards to each of the 100 teams at the International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) World Finals. Teams from institutions that have active chapters of UPE receive an additional cash award of \$450 from UPE. The 2009 ICPC was held in Stockholm, Sweden. The 2010 contest will be held in Harbin, China during the first week in February 2010.

Chapter Awards – The next Annual Convention of UPE will be held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin on March 12, 2010. UPE chapters are encouraged to attend this event and make a brief chapter report to the convention. UPE presents a \$100 cash award to each chapter presenter.

About Upsilon Pi Epsilon

- founded at Texas A&M University in 1967
- for students, faculty and computing professionals who exhibit superior scholastic and professional achievement in the computing & information disciplines
- the only Interational Honor Society for the computing and information disciplines
- recognized as such by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and IEEE Computer Society
- member of the ACHS (Association of College Honor Societies) the parent organization for all academic honor societies in North America
- founding sponsor of the International Collegiate Programming Contest in 1977
- only continuous sponsor of the International Collegiate Programming Contest
- founding member of IFEES International Federation of Engineering Education Societies
- has chapters at over 240 colleges and universities in the U.S. and overseas
- distributed over \$55,000 in student awards in year 2009.