

UPE NewsBrief – February 2013

2013 UPE Annual Convention – The 2013 Annual Convention of UPE will be held on Thursday, February 28, 2013. UPE will conduct this convention via the Polycom Video Conferencing System, courtesy of the Graduate School of Computer & Information Science at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The Polycom system will allow members of the UPE Executive Council and chapter representatives to meet naturally over distance, share ideas, make presentations, present chapter reports, and interact across various environments. To maximize chapter participation, two identical sessions are planned as follows:

Session 1 – 11:30 AM to 1:00 PM (ET) Session 2 – 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM (ET)

Convention agenda, registration form and instructions for those who wish to be part of this video conference can be found at www.acm.org/upe/. UPE Alumni and friends of UPE who are no longer involved in the campus activities of a UPE chapter are welcome to participate in this Convention event. You will need an Ipad with the free Polycom app download. Questions related to the Polycom conferencing system can be directed to Dr. Eric Ackerman at esa@nova.edu.

2013 Scholarship Applications – UPE members who expect to be registered as students during the 2013-2014 school year are encouraged to submit their applications (must be submitted as pdf files to upe@acm.org/upe/) for one of the UPE Scholarship Awards. These awards range from \$750 to \$1,500 and Council expects to present a minimum of 25 awards for the coming year. The scholarship application form can be downloaded from the UPE website and all application documents must be submitted before June 15, 2013. Awards will be announced on September 15, 2013.

UPE also provides funds for special scholarship awards to *student members of the ACM and the IEEE-CS*. There are specific requirements and different deadlines for these awards. Students who are active in either the ACM or the IEEE-CS should visit the respective websites of these organizations for detailed information on these awards.

New Chapters in 2012 and 2013 – Four new chapters were chartered in 2012 – Georgia Gwinnett College, Lipscomb University (Tenn), Austin Peay State University (Tenn), and McKendree University in Illinois. New chapters have also been approved at Washington University in St. Louis, University of Illinois Springfield, Southern Polytechnic State University (GA), and the University of California, Irvine. These four new chapters will be chartered in 2013.

On January 11, 2013, UPE was pleased to establish and charter a UPE chapter at the *Czech Technical University in Prague* (CTU). CTU is the primary engineering university in the Czech Republic. Several of the CTU faculty in the computing and information disciplines have taken active leadership roles in the worldwide activities of the ICPC (International Collegiate Programming Contest) including their service as the host institution for the 2004 ICPC. The CTU chapter of UPE was founded by Prof. Tomas Cerny with assistance from Prof. Bozena Mannova. The following is a quote from Dr. Comer.

"On the day after UPE celebrated its 46th year anniversary, James Comer was honored to be invited to install the 263rd chapter at the Czech Technical University in Prague. The installation was a resounding success and all students, faculty, and guests were delighted by the ceremony.

Tomas Cerny, a member of the Baylor University UPE Chapter, Waco, TX took the initiative to petition the UPE Executive Council for authorization to begin a new chapter at CTU Prague. UPE anticipates a long history of participation and growth by the new chapter."

Several pictures of the CTU charter ceremony have been posted in the UPE website. The picture below shows Profs. Mannova, Comer, and Cerny at the recent UPE event in Prague.



Chapter Awards – UPE has plans to establish and present one or more chapter excellence awards beginning with the next academic year. This topic will be presented and discussed during the 2013 UPE Convention. Chapter Advisors and Officers are encouraged to attend this event and present ideas on the implementation of chapter awards. Council will take all ideas presented at the 2013 Convention and finalize this program in Summer 2013.

Chapter representatives who are unable to attend the UPE Convention are encouraged to send in their opinions and ideas for UPE chapter awards via email to upe@acm.org. Council envisions cash awards, in addition to special plaque for each winning chapter.

ABACUS Award – The 2013 ABACUS Award will be presented to Prof. Bjarne Stroustrup, creator of C++ and distinguished professor of computer science at Texas A&M University. UPE will present this award to Prof. Stroustrup during the opening ceremonies of the 2013 ICPC which will be held in St. Petersburg, Russia on June 30-July 4, 2013. The ABACUS Award is UPE's highest award and is designed to recognize individuals who have gained renown in the profession and also have a record of outstanding contributions to computer science education.

REMINDER – Please join us for the forthcoming **UPE National Convention** on Thursday, February 28, 2013.

UPE Executive Council Members

Orlando S. Madrigal, PhD California State University, Chico Executive Director of UPE

James Comer, PhD Texas Christain University ex-officio Council Member Jeffrey Popyack PhD Drexel University

Robert Roggio, PhD

University of North Florida

Angela Wu, PhD American University

Daniela Raicu, PhD DePaul University International President of UPE Alumni Representative: Bill Poucher, PhD Baylor University

Editor/Webmaster:
Eric Ackerman, PhD
Nova SE University