

www.acm.org/upe/

# UPE NewsBrief - Scholarship Awards - September 2012

2012 Scholarship Awards - Each summer the Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon evaluates a large number of scholarship applications from students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. All scholarship applicants are required to complete a comprehensive application form including a statement on their long-term plans for the profession, a summary of their contributions to their respective UPE chapters and related student activities at their university. Applicants are also required to submit all college-level transcripts and a recommendation from the UPE faculty adviser. Council is pleased to present our list of Scholarship Awards for 2012.

UPE Named Scholarship Awards (\$1,500 per award) – These awards are named in honor of two UPE pioneers. Dr. Dan Drew was the principal adviser to the six CS students who are credited with the founding of UPE at Texas A&M University in 1967. Dr. Jim Nolen started the UPE chapter at Baylor University and was a significant contributor to student-related activities of the ACM.

*Dan Drew Award*: Stephanie Kaye Rogers, University of California, Berkeley (UG) *Jim Nolen Award*: Charles Russell Snyder, University of Central Florida (Grad)

# UPE Special Recognition Scholarship Awards (\$1,250 per award):

Philip Matthew Albu South Dakota State University (UG)
Alexander Michael Bunch Ohio State U & Carnegie Mellon U (UG)

Andrey Gavel University of South Carolina, Columbia (UG)

Andrew Allen Green DePaul University (UG)

David Maximilian Hartmann Florida Atlantic University (UG)

Michael B. Kouremetis Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (UG)

Aimee Ma University of California, Los Angeles (UG)

Boakai Kaikai Mamey Mercer University (UG)

Sean Patrick Mealin North Carolina State University (UG)

Reid William Mulkey Texas Christian University (UG)

Meredith M Myers American University (UG)

Phillip Andew Walker University of North Carolina, Wilmington (UG)

Nicholas Berry Anderson University of Wyoming (Grad) Wafa Mohamed Elmannai University of Bridgeport (Grad)

Deepa V. Komathukattil University of North Florida (Grad) James Eric Mantheiy, Jr. West Virginia University (Grad)

UPE Scholarship Awards (\$1,000 per award):

Jayne Alexander Spottswood DePaul University (Grad)

Laura Regina Alonso Florida International University (UG)

Evgeniva V Bell University of North Florida (UG)

Jaime Lyn Poliansky University of Maryland University College (UG)

### UPE Scholarship Awards (\$1,000 per award) - continued

Vikram Saraph
Shengyen Tony Chen
Brady Tyler Kyle
Atif Farid Mohammad
University of North Dakota (Grad)
University of North Dakota (Grad)

## Other UPE Awards

ACM and IEEE-CS Awards – Each year, UPE provides funds for four \$1,000 scholarship awards to student members of the ACM and four \$1,000 scholarship awards to student members of the IEEE-CS. Students who are interested in applying for these awards need to visit the websites of the ACM and the IEEE-CS for instructions on the submission of applications. Email inquiries can be sent to Ms. Samantha Goldberg (<a href="local\_activities@hq.acm.org">local\_activities@hq.acm.org</a>), ACM or Mr. John Daniel (<a href="jw.daniel@computer.org">jw.daniel@computer.org</a>), IEEE-CS.

ABACUS Award – The ABACUS Award is presented to an individual who has gained professional renown and whose accomplishments in the profession have greatly benefited students in the computing and information disciplines. UPE will present the 2013 ABACUS Award to Prof. Bjarne Stroustrup (designer of C++). This award will be presented at the World Finals of the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) - to be held in St. Petersburg, Russia in July 2013. Prof. Stroustrup will receive a special "abacus plaque" and \$5,000 cash award from UPE.

Chapter Awards – Details on UPE award to chapters will be announced in January 2013.

ICPC Awards – During the 2012 ICPC World Finals in Warsaw, Poland, UPE presented cash awards to programming teams who were judged to be the "first solvers" of problems posed at the ICPC. Similar awards will be presented by UPE at the 2013 ICPC World Finals in St. Petersburg, Russia (June 30-July 4, 2013). The summary of results and team standings for the 2012 ICPC World Finals can be found at http://icpc.baylor.edu/welcome.icpc.



#### **UPE Executive Council Members**

Orlando S. Madrigal, PhD California State University, Chico Executive Director of UPE

Bob Roggio, PhD University of North Florida Jeffrey Popyack PhD Drexel University

James Comer, PhD Texas Christian University Angela Wu, PhD American University

Daniela Raicu, PhD DePaul University International President of UPE Alumni Representative: Bill Poucher, PhD

Baylor University

Editor/Webmaster:

Eric Ackerman, PhD Nova SE University

## **About Upsilon Pi Epsilon**

- founded at Texas A&M University in 1967,
- for students, faculty and computing professionals who exhibit superior scholastic and professional achievement in the computing & information disciplines,
- the only International Honor Society for the computing and information disciplines,
- recognized as such by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and IEEE Computer Society,
- member of the ACHS (Association of College Honor Societies) the parent organization for all academic honor societies in North America,
- founding sponsor of the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest,
- founded the Ph.D. dissertation competition for CS majors known today as the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Awards,
- founding member of IFEES International Federation of Engineering Education Societies,
- has chapters at over 250 colleges and universities in the U.S. and overseas,
- presents scholarship awards to student members of UPE, the ACM, and the IEEE-CS,
- provide annual grant awards to the CCSC Organization (Consortium for Computing Sciences in Colleges),
- founding sponsor of the ABACUS Award.



#### **UPE Executive Council Members**

Orlando S. Madrigal, PhD California State University, Chico Executive Director of UPE

Bob Roggio, PhD University of North Florida Jeffrey Popyack PhD Drexel University

James Comer PhD

Texas Christian University

Angela Wu, PhD American University

Daniela Raicu, PhD DePaul University International President of UPE Alumni Representative: Bill Poucher, PhD Baylor University

Editor/Webmaster:
Eric Ackerman, PhD
Nova SE University