

www.acm.org/upe/

UPE NewsBrief - Scholarship Awards - September 2011

2011 Scholarship Awards - Each summer the Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon evaluates a large number of scholarship applications from students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. All scholarship applicants are required to complete a comprehensive application form including a statement on their long-term plans for the profession, a summary of their contributions to their respective UPE chapters and related student activities at their university. Applicants are also required to submit all college-level transcripts and a recommendation from the UPE faculty adviser. Council is pleased to present our list of Scholarship Awards for 2011.

UPE Named Scholarship Awards (\$1,500 per award) – These awards are named in honor of two UPE pioneers. Dr. Dan Drew was the principal advisor to the six CS students who are credited with the founding of UPE at Texas A&M University in 1967. Dr. Jim Nolen founded the UPE chapter at Baylor University and was a significant contributor to student-related activities of the ACM.

Dan Drew Award: Raj Sunil Shah, Texas A&M University (UG) Jim Nolen Award: Zahra Ferdowsi, DePaul University (Grad)

UPE Special Recognition Scholarship Awards (\$1,250 per award):

Michael R. Jantz, University of Kansas (Grad) Bhavna Mahadevan, Georgia Tech (Grad) Jacob Stryder Steele, West Virginia University (UG) Anirudh Todi, University of California, Berkeley (UG)

UPE Scholarship Awards (\$1,000 per award):

Laiali Hussein Almazaydeh, University of Bridgeport (Grad) Melvin Yuli Bonner, University of North Carolina at Wilmington (UG) Jasen James Moran, James Madison University (Grad) Hossen Asiful Mustafa, University of South Carolina (Grad) Tempestt Ja'Nice Neal, South Carolina State University (UG) Martin Angelov Nenove, University of South Carolina (UG) Lindsey Megan Patillo, University of North Florida (UG) Daniel Alan Quach, University of California, Los Angeles (Grad) Suganya Sridharan, University of North Florida (Grad) James Edward Vondrak, Wayne State College (UG)

UPE Scholarship Awards (\$750 per award):

Patrick Nicholas Denton, University of Kansas (UG) Daniel James Lombardi, North Carolina State University (UG) Barry Wayne Peddycord III, North Carolina State University (Grad) Bryan Scott Sheriff, Florida Atlantic University (UG) Sam Philip Snodgrass, Ursinus College (UG)

Other UPE Awards

ACM and IEEE-CS Awards – Each year, UPE provides funds for four \$1,000 scholarship awards to student members of the ACM and two \$1,000 scholarship awards to student members of the IEEE-CS. Students who are interested in applying for these awards need to visit the websites of the ACM and the IEEE-CS for instructions on the submission of applications.

ABACUS Award – UPE will present the ABACUS Award to one or more outstanding CS professionals in 2012. This award will be announced and presented at the National Convention of UPE in Raleigh, NC on March 2, 2012. Each ABACUS Award recipient receives a special "abacus plaque" and \$5,000 cash award from UPE. The UPE National Convention will be held in conjunction with the ACM SIGCSE Technical Symposium.

Chapter Awards – As noted above, the next Annual Convention of UPE will be held in Raleigh, NC on March 2, 2012. UPE chapters are encouraged to send a representative to this event and make a brief chapter activity report to the convention. UPE will present a \$100 cash award to each chapter presenter.

ICPC Awards – During the 2011 ICPC World Finals in Orlando, Florida, UPE presented cash awards to the programming team who submitted the first correct solution at the contest and subsequently, to each team who was judged to be the "first solver" of the remaining problems. Similar awards will be presented by UPE at the 2012 ICPC World Finals in Warsaw, Poland (May 14-18, 2012).

About Upsilon Pi Epsilon

- founded at Texas A&M University in 1967
- for students, faculty and computing professionals who exhibit superior scholastic and professional achievement in the computing & information disciplines
- the only International Honor Society for the computing and information disciplines
- recognized as such by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and IEEE Computer Society
- member of the ACHS (Association of College Honor Societies) the parent organization for all academic honor societies in North America
- founding sponsor of the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest
- founded the Ph.D. dissertation competition for CS majors known today as the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Awards
- founding member of IFEES International Federation of Engineering Education Societies
- has chapters at over 250 colleges and universities in the U.S. and overseas
- presents scholarship awards to student members of UPE, the ACM, and the IEEE-CS; provide grant awards to education-oriented technology societies including the CCSC (Consortium for Computing Sciences in Colleges) and the ACM SIGCSE.

UPE Executive Council Members

Orlando S. Madrigal, PhD California State University, Chico Executive Director of UPE Jeffrey Popyack PhD Drexel University Angela Wu, PhD American University Daniela Raicu, PhD DePaul University *Alumni Representative:* Bill Poucher, PhD Baylor University

Editor/Webmaster: Eric Ackerman, PhD Nova SE University SIGCSE Liaison Elizabeth Adams, DSc James Madison University

 Ali Orooji, PhD
 Jame

 University of Central Florida
 Texas

 ex-officio Council Member
 Interr

James Comer, PhD Texas Christian University International President of UPE

Postal Address of UPE: 158 Wetlands Edge Road, American Canyon, CA 94503 Email: upe@acm.org Phone: (530) 518-8488